

INCUMBENTS LIST For the parish of Colerne

Colerne is an ancient parish which was probably formed in the 7th century: the names of the earliest are not now known. For several centuries there was a double benefice, the Rectors being appointed by the Lords of the Mano, the Vicars by the Rectors. The following names of Incumbents are taken from the Sarum Episcopal Registers which commence in 1297. From 1740 to 1903 the Rectorate of Colerne was held in plurality with the Wardenship of New College. While Dr. Sewell was Warden, 1860-1903, the Wardenship became eligible to a layman and an Act was specially passed in the latter part of the 19th century separating the Wardenship and restoring the Rectorate to Colerne. The intervening Incumbents had been called Vicars, the title of Rector being restored in 1903.

Rectors 1298 - 1740

Year	Surname	Given Names	Other Names	Reason For Leaving Position	Patron	Position
1298	De Bereford	Ralph			Sir John De La Mare, Knt.	
1299	Bacon	John			John De La Mare	
1314	De Dunston	William			Bartholomew de Badlesmere	
1314	De Stanford	Robert			Bartholomew de Badlesmere	
1316	Seward	William			Sir Bartholomew de Badlesmere, Knt.	
1322	De Walford	Richard			Hugh le Despencer, Earl of Winchester	
1324	Prior de Uphaven	William			Hugh le Despencer, Earl of Winchester	
1325	De Keston	John			Hugh le Despencer, Earl of Winchester	
1332	De Welewyck	Thomas		Exchange	Lady Margaret de Umfraville	
1340	De Welewyck	Thomas				

1342	De Weston	William		Exchange	The King	
1348	De Hale	John		Resigned 1354	Bartholomew de Burghersh, Snr.	
1354	Clermont	Geoffrey			Sir Bartholomew de Burghersh, Knt., Snr.	
	Marlebergh	Robert		Exchanged 1376		
1376	Povy	Roger	Or Reginald		Thomas Besyles	
1401	Defford	John			Warden & Fellows of St. Mary Winton College, Oxford	
1419	Frith	William			Warden of Winton College, Oxford	
1420	Norton	John		Resigned 1432	Warden of St. Mary Winton College, Oxford	
1432	Janet	John	Or Jovet, Jevet, Jancte		College of St. Mary Winton, Oxford	
1472	Lavynder	Richard			Warden of Wynton College, Oxford	
1481	Simeon	Geoffrey				
1508	Portersacre	William			Warden of St. Mary Winton College, Oxford	
1524		John	Bishop of Gallipoli, "Episcopus Calipolensis"			
1526	Holyman	John	Bishop of Bristol 1554-62		St. Mary Winton College	
1558	White	Thomas				
1588	Culpeper	Martin	M.D.			
1605	Rives	George		Exchange	John Halloway by Concession of St. Mary Winton College	
1613	Estmond	John			Arthur Lake, Warden of New College, Oxford	
1645	Pinck	Robert			New College, Oxford	
1647	Lucas	John				
1658	Witt	Richard			New College, Oxford	
1685	Pelham	Nathaniel			Richard Beeston, Warden of New College, Oxford	
1691	Wickham	David			<u> </u>	
1694	Christmas	William		Resigned 1694	Henry Beeston, Warden of New College, Oxford	
1694	Sewster	Robert			New College, Oxford	
1706	Izod	Henry			New College, Oxford	
1728	Reynell	Carew	Bishop of Down 1939-43, Bishop of Derry 1743-1745	Resigned 1740	Henry Biggs, Warden of New College, Oxford	

1740	Bowler	William		New College, Oxford	

Vicars for Non-Resident Rectors 1316 - 1898

Year	Surname	Given Names	Other Names	Reason For Leaving Position	Patron	Position
1316	De Carleton	William			King Edward II	Dominus
1317	De Beauchamp	Richard			William Seward	Rector
1319	Polhanger	Henry			William Seward	Rector
1338	De Welewyk	Robert			Thomas de Welewyke	Rector
1384	Whyte	William			Reginald Povy	Rector
1403	White	William			John Defford	
	Tyght	John				
1405	Plonte	William			John Desseford (Defford)	Rector
1406	Hert	Henry			John Defford	Rector
1412- 1420	Stratford	John	Alias FitzRichard		John Defford	Rector
1420	Eyer	John		Resigned	John Norton	Rector
1434	FitzRichard	John	Alias Stratford		John Janet (Jovet, Jevet, Janette)	Rector
1439	Boteler	John			John Janet (Jovet, Jevet, Janette)	Rector
1459	Neucom	John		Exchange	John Janet (Jovet, Jevet, Janette)	Rector
1478	Frend	John			Richard Lavynder	Rector
1492	Hed	Thomas			Geoffrey Sinwan	Rector
1504	Key	Thomas			Ralph Geoffrey Simeon	Rector
1509	Makeyt	Thomas	Possibly Magret		William Porter	Rector
1540	Belsyre	Alexander	Possibly Belsyn		John Holyman	Rector
	Charleton	Thomas				
1568- 1569	Tuke	Vincent			Thomas White	Rector
1569	Plompton	John		Resigned	Thomas White	Rector

	Cobhed	Thomas			Thomas White	Rector
1576	Temple	Robert		Deprived	Thomas White	Rector
1582	Johnson	Richard			Thomas White	Rector
	Bellamie	Thomas			Martin Culpepper, M.D.	Rector
1603	Huggins	Robert		Resigned	Martin Culpepper, M.D.	Rector
	Combes	Thomas				
1662	Harpur	Robert			Richard Witt	Rector
1664	Smyth	Thomas			Richard Witt, Ll. B.	Rector
1671	Latimer	Thomas			Richard Witt, Ll. B.	Rector
1674- 1678	Gallimore	Francis			Bishop of Sarum	By Lapse
1678- 1681	Swaffield	John		Resigned	Richard Witt	Rector
1681	Houghton	John	Possibly Horton	Resigned	Richard Witt	Rector
1702	Griffin	Benjamin		<u> </u>	Robert Sewster	Rector
1709- 1712	Griffin	Benjamin		Resigned	Henry Izod	Rector
1712	Mascall	James		Resigned	Henry Izod	Rector
1719- 1720	Saunders	Alexander			Henry Izod	Rector
1720	Lewis	James		Resigned	Henry Izod	Rector
1725- 1742	Needham	Joseph			Henry Izod	Rector
1742	Needham	Joseph		Resigned	William Bowler	Rector
1760- 1764	Humphreys	Francis			William Bowler	Rector
1764	Yescombe	Edward		Resigned	William Bowler	Milton College, Oxford
1773	Bliss	Nathaniel Alsop		Ŭ		•
1796- 1799	Heathcote	Gilbert			Samuel Gauntlett, DD	Warden of New College Oxford
1799	Wells	John				New College, Oxford
1814	Smith	Robert R.				
1816	Price	A. C.				
1846	Heathcote	Gilbert				
1868	Turner	Augustus			Dr. Sewell	Warden of New College Oxford
1877	Bird	John Joseph			Dr. Sewell	Warden of New College

					Oxford
1898	Smith	Maxwell Homfray		Dr. Sewell	Warden of New College Oxford