

Compton Chamberlayne

Guardians Elected

WILTON UNION

This Union consists of twenty-two parishes, divided into four districts, with 24 guardians and four relieving officers, the total population being 10,352, and the workhouse being situated at Wilton; it is to take effect the second week in October. The following are the districts, with the names of the parishes, their respective population, and the number of guardians to each:-

Wilton District, pop. 3581, with seven guardians: - Wilton, 1997, 3; Netherhampton, 143, 1; Fugglestone St. Peter, 515, 1; South Newton, 565, 1; Great Wishford, 361, 1.

Stapleford District, pop. 1980, with six guardians:- Stapleford, 337, 1; Berwick St. James, 232, 1; Steeple Langford, 587, 1; Little Langford, 39, 1; Wily, 476, 1: Fisherton Delamere, 309, 1.

Burcome District pop. 2636, with six guardians:- Burcombe, 419, 1; Barford St. Martin, 570, 1; Baverstock, 166, 1; Compton Chamberlaine, 309, 1; Dinton, 619, 1; Fovant, 553, 1.

Bishopston District, pop. 21456 with five guardians:- Bishopston, 663, 1; Bower Chalke, 370, 1; Broad Chalke, 796, 1; Fyfield Bavant, 49 1; Ebbesborne, 278, 1.

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal - Monday 14 September, 1835)

Wilton Union – The following are the names of the gentemen appointed Guardians for this Union:-Wilton, Messrs Thring, Doling and W. Seagrim, jun.; Netherhampton, Mr W. Thring; Fugglestone and Quidhampton, Mr Woodcock; South Newton, Mr G. Newman; Wishford, Mr J, Trubridge; Stapleford, Mr Elias Saph; Berwick St. James, Mr Thos Kellow; Steeple Langford, Mr John Pyle Swayne; Little Langford, Mr Chapman; Wylye, Mr Wm. Small; Fisherton Delamere, John Davis, jun. Esq.; Burcombe, Mr James Rogers; Barford, Mr Compton; Baverstock, Mr Smith; <u>Compton, Mr Rowden</u>; Dinton, Mr Bailey; Fovant, Mr D. Bracher; Bishopstone, Mr Sidford; Bower Chalke, Mr Large; Broad Chalke, Mr Rooke; Fyfield Bavant, Mr Blandford; Ebbesborne, Mr Rebbeck.-

Chairman, A. Powell, Esq.; Vice-Chairman, Mr W. Seagrim, jun.; Clerk, T. Thring, Esq.; Treasurers, Messrs Brodie and Co. – Relieving Officers: Wilton district, Mr Jeanes; Burcombe district, Mr Croome; Stapleford district, Mr Charles Rowden, sen.; Bishopstone district, not yet elected.

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal - Monday 19 October, 1835)

©Wiltshire OPC Project/Cathy Sedgwick/2013

At a special meeting, held at Wilton, on the 17th inst., of the Guardians of the Wilton Union, the following gentlemen were appointed as surgeons, &c., to the different Districts:-

No. 1, consisting of Wilton Fugglestone, Bemerton, Quidhampton, South Newton and Wishford – Messrs French and Langstaff.

No. 2, Stapleford, Berwick St. James, Steeple and Little Langford, Wily and Fisherton Delamere – Mr Swayne.

No. 3, Burcombe, Barford, Baverstock, Compton, Dinton and Fovant – Mr French.

No. 4, Bishopstone Broad Chalke, Bower Chalke, Fifield and Ebbsborne – Messrs Foot and Beckingsale.

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal - Monday 28 March, 1836)

Wilton Union - The following gentlemen have been elected Guardians of this Union for the ensuing year: - William Rowden, Bishopstone; John Hale, sen., Quidhampton; William Seagrim, jun., and John Rogers, Wilton; Frederick Tabor, Burdensball; James Futcher, Fovant; Herbert Smith, Baverstock; John Perrier, Wily; Thomas Bladford, Fifield Bavant; <u>William Rowden, Compton</u>; John Rebbeck, Ebbesborne Wake; Robert Stiles Chapman, Little Langford; John Davis, Fisherton-de-la-mere; John Pile Swayne, Steeple Langford; Walter Bailey, Dinton, James Saph, Stapleford; George Newman, South Newton; Thomas Trubridge, Little Wishford; John Lush, Burcomb, Thomas Bennett, Barford St. Martin; William Rooke, Broad Chalke; Charles Large, Bower Chalke; William Grove, Netherhampton; Erlysman Charles Pinckney, Berwick Saint James.

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal – Saturday 1 April, 1843)

WILTON - ELECTION OF GUARDIANS

The following is a list of the newly elected Guardians for this Poor Law Union :-

Barford St. Martin, William Bennet; Baverstock, Herbert Smith; Berwick St. James, Charles Blandford Parham; Bishopstone, James Sheppard; Bower Chalke, George Sidford; Broad Chalke, John Selfe; Burcombe, William Henry Mayo; <u>Compton Chamberlayne, William Targett</u>; Dinton, Henry Hayter, Macey;

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal – Saturday 13 April, 1867)

NEW GUARDIANS

The following is a list of the Poor Law Guardians elected to serve for the several parishes comprised in the Wilton Union : - Barford St. Martin, Mr James Combes; Baverstock, Mr Herbert Smith; Berwick St. James, Mr C. B. Parham; Bishopstone, Mr James Sheppard; Bower Chalke, Mr James Sidford; Broad Chalke, Mr John Selfe; Burcombe, Mr W. H. Mayo; <u>Compton Chamberlayne, Mr Keevil</u>; Dinton, Mr H. H. Macey;

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal – Saturday 17 April, 1869)

THE GUARDIANS' DINNER

According to annual custom, the guardians of Wilton Union dined together at the close of their official year, at the Pembroke Arms Hotel, on Thursday, their chaplain, clerk, and medical officers joining them by special invitation. Mr Motton provided a sumptuous repast in his usual good style on the occasion, of which a numerous party partook. After the cloth was cleared, toasts, speeches and songs followed, and a pleasant evening was spent.

BOARD OF GUARDIANS

The following gentlemen have been elected guardians for the several parishes of this union:- *Barford St. Martin*, Mr James Coombes; *Baverstock*, Mr Herbert Smith; *Berwick St. James*, Mr C. B. Parham; *Bishopstone*, Mr H. J. Swayne; *Bowerchalke*, Mr George Sidford; *Broadchalke*, Mr John Selfe; *Burcombe*, Mr W. H. Mayo; <u>Compton Chamberlayne</u>, Mr W. Targett; *Dinton*, Mr H. H. Macey;

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal - Saturday 9 April, 1870)

Guardians – The following is the list of Poor Law Guardians elected for the ensuing year, in the several parishes of the Wilton Union :- Barford St. Martin, James Combes; Baverstock, Herbert Smith; Berwick St. James, Charles Blandford Parham; Bishopstone, Henry James Swayne; Bower Chalke, George Sidford; Broad Chalke, John Selfe; Burcombe, William Henry Mayo; <u>Compton Chamberlayne, William Targett;</u> Dinton, William Allen; Ebbsborne Wake, John Rebbeck; Fifield Bavant, Jas. Chisman; Fisherton Delamere, Joseph Deans Willis; Fovant, Aaron Futcher; Fugglestone St. Peter, William Henry Woodcock; Great Wishford, Joseph Higgins; Grovely Woods, Joseph Shergold;

(Salisbury and Winchester Journal - Saturday 8 April, 1871)

©Wiltshire OPC Project/Cathy Sedgwick/2013