

Wiltshire Constabulary 1858

The County Constabulary covered 799, 033 acres (not including the City of Salisbury who had their own independent force). The population that the force was responsible for policing was 242,564. The total value of the force and assets were £1,130,925. The total force strength was 201.

Bradford and Trowbridge Division covered 35,318 acres. With a population responsibility of 31,479, the value of the division was £119,522. Strength 18. Stations within the division were:- Atworth, Bradford-on-Avon, Broughton Gifford, Hilperton, Holt, Melksham, Semington, Southwick (North Bradley), South Wraxall, Trowbridge and Winsley

Chippenham Division covered 82,316 acres. With a population responsibility of 30,824, the value of the division was £148,229. Strength 23. Stations within the division were:- Biddestone, Box, Bremhill, Calne, Castle Combe, Cherhill, Chippenham, Christine Malford, Colerne, Corsham, Corsham Side, Grittleton, Hilmarton, Kington St. Michael, Lacock, Langley Burrell, North Wraxall, Sutton Benger.

Devizes Division covered 78,541 acres. With a population responsibility of 25,132, the value of the division was £113,007. Strength 25 including the Headquarters. Stations within the division were:- All Cannings, Bishops Cannings, Bromham, Devizes, Heddington, Keevil, Littleton, Marden, Market Lavington, Potterne, Poulshot, Rowde, Great Cheverell, Sandy Lane (Bromham), Seend, Steeple Ashton, Tilshead, Wedhampton (Bishop Cannings), Urchfont, Tinhead (Edington)

Hindon Division covered 75,115 acres. With a population responsibility of 17,977, the value of the division was £85,592. Strength 16. Stations within the division were:- Alvediston, Berwick St. John, Chilmark, Donhead St. Mary, Dinton, East Knoyle, East Tisbury, Fovant, Hindon, Mere, Newtown, Semley, Wylye

Malmesbury Division covered 63,490 acres. With a population responsibility of 20,428, the value of the division was £96,667. Strength 15. Stations within the division were:- Ashton Keynes, Brinkworth, Crudwell, Hullavington, Kemble, Lea, Malmesbury, Minety, Newnton, Sherston, Somerford

Marlborough Division covered 149,582 acres. With a population responsibility of 27,974, the value of the division was £166,850. Strength 29. Stations within the division were:- Aldbourne, Beckhampton, Bottlesford, Broad Hinton, Burbage, Chilton, Chute, Collingbourne, Easton, Enford, Fifield, Figheldean, Froxfield, Great Bedwyn, Hand, Ludgershall, Marlborough, Mildenhall, Netheravon, Ogbourne St. George, Pewsey, Ramsbury, Upavon

Salisbury Division covered 144,324 acres. With a population responsibility of 35,529, the value of the division was £160,449. Strength 30. Stations within the division were:- Amesbury, Barford St. Martin, Broad Chalke, Coombe Bissett, Damerham, Downton, Durrington, Fisherton, Laverstock, Martin, Newton Stapleford, Newton Tony, Plaitford, Quidhampton, Redlynch, Shrewton, South

©Wiltshire OPC Project/2020/Teresa Lewis

Newton, Steeple Langford, Stratford-sub-Castle, Whaddon, West Grimstead, Whiteparish, Wilton, Winterbourne Earls, Winterslow, Woodford

Swindon Division covered 99,670 acres. With a population responsibility of 28,117, the value of the division was £150,718. Strength 22. Stations within the division were:- Bishopstone, Blunsdon, Bushton, Castle Eaton, Chiseldon, Cricklade, Highworth, Hoole, Lyneham, New Swindon, Purton, Stratton St. Margaret, Swindon, Wanborough, Wootton Bassett, Wroughton

Warminster Division covered 70,677 acres. With a population responsibility of 25,104, the value of the division was £89,891. Strength 22. Stations within the division were:- Boyton, Brixton Deverill, Chapmanslade, Chitterne, Codford St. Peter, Corsley Magna, Crockerton, Heytesbury, Horningsham, Imber, Maiden Bradley, Norton Bavant, Sutton Magna, Warminster, Warminster Common, Westbury, Westbury Leigh, Yarnbrook

Boroughs including Calne, Chippenham, Devizes and Marlborough are consolidated with the County Force.

Salisbury City covered 620 acres. With a population responsibility of 11,657, the value of the division was £28,000. Strength 11.

Surname	Given Names	Position Held	Division	Location	Notes
Abbott	John	Superintendent	Warminster Division	Warminster	
Barber	Richard	Head Constable	Salisbury City Force	Salisbury	
Bush	Francis	Inspector	Marlborough Division	Marlborough	
Dann	Edward	Inspector	Marlborough Division	Pewsey	
Emery	Thomas	Inspector	Devizes Division	Bromham	
Erangey	Thomas	Superintendent	Malmesbury Division	Malmesbury	
Foley	John	Superintendent	Bradford & Trowbridge Division	Trowbridge	
Forster	James William	Clerk	Headquarters, Devizes Division	Heddington	
Harris	John	Superintendent	Hindon Division	Hindon	
Haynes	Henry	Superintendent	Swindon Division	Swindon	
Hill	George	Inspector	Devizes Division	Devizes	
Maggs	James	Inspector	Devizes Division	Steeple Ashton	
Matthews	George	Superintendent	Salisbury Division	Fisherton	
Meredith	Samuel	Chief Constable	Headquarters, Devizes Division	Heddington	Former Captain, Royal Navy
Merrett	Charles	Inspector	Bradford & Trowbridge Division	Melksham	
Mould	James	Inspector	Marlborough Division	Collingbourne	

Passmore	John	Inspector	Swindon Division	Cricklade
Perrett	John	Inspector	Hindon Division	Mere
Pitney	Samuel	Inspector	Bradford & Trowbridge Division	Bradford-on- Avon
Prosser	Jesse	Inspector	Salisbury Division	Wilton
Staples	William	Inspector	Warminster Division	Westbury
Stretton	Thomas	Superintendent	Marlborough Division	Marlborough
Wiltshire	Levi	Inspector	Chippenham Division	Calne
Wolfe	Francis	Superintendent	Devizes Division	Devizes
Wright	James	Superintendent	Chippenham Division	Chippenham