

Appointments of Overseers and Parish Constables for Salisbury and Amesbury Division

At a special petty sessions, held yesterday at the Council House in this city [Salisbury], before Major Heathcote, Mr. E. Everett, and Captain Wigram, the following persons were appointed overseers for the parishes within the above named division:

Surname	Given Names	Parish	Hundred
Atkins	John Sidney	Milford	Underditch
Barnes	Arthur Thomas	Winterbourne Dauntsey	Alderbury
Barnett	Uriah	Stapleford	Branch and Dole
Barnett	William	Broad Chalke	Chalke
Beauchamp	William Thomas	West Dean	Alderbury
Beckett	George	Burcombe	Cawden & Cadworth
Benjafield	George	Fifield Bavant	Chalke
Bennett	Henry	Stapleford	Branch and Dole
Bishop	Henry	Amesbury	Amesbury
Blake	Edward	Idmiston	Alderbury
Blandford	John	Martin	Damerham South
Bourne	William	West Wellow	Amesbury
Bowns	Thomas	Britford	Cawden & Cadworth
Bradby	James Matthew	Stratford Tony	Cawden & Cadworth
Briant	Charles	Pitton & Farley	Alderbury
Brown	John	Homington	Cawden & Cadworth
Brown	Edwin Lewis	Fisherton Anger (without the borough of Sarum)	Branch and Dole

©Wiltshire OPC Project/2019/Maureen Withey

Budd	Alfred	Barford St. Martin	Cawden & Cadworth
Bugg	Henry William	Downton	Downton
Burnard	William Deans	Cholderton	Amesbury
Burtt	George	Winterbourne Dauntsey	Alderbury
Canning	William Brown	Orcheston St. George	Heytesbury
Chisman	James	Fifield Bavant	Chalke
Coombs	William	Bowerchalke	Chalke
00011103		Fisherton Anger (without the borough of	Onlaike
Cox	Charles	Sarum)	Branch and Dole
Curtis	Charles	West Wellow	Amesbury
Cusse	Edward	Winterbourne Gunner	Alderbury
Dawes	Howard	Barford St. Martin	Cawden & Cadworth
Drew	Martin	Baverstock	Cawden &
2.01			Cadworth
Felthow	Thomas	Newton Tony	Amesbury
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Cawden &
Fleetwood	John	Coombe Bissett	Cadworth
Flower	John	Homington	Cawden & Cadworth
Ford	James	Clarendon Park	Alderbury
Fry	Thomas Frederick	Orcheston St. George	Heytesbury
Galpin	Thomas Patten	Little Langford	Branch and Dole
Gay	George	Laverstock	Alderbury
Gay	Thomas	East Grimstead	Alderbury
Giddings	John	Nomansland	Downton
Giles	George	Steeple Langford	Branch and Dole
Godwin	John Hawkins	Winterbourne Earls	Alderbury
Goulden	James	Little Langford	Branch and Dole
Goulden	James	Wishford	Branch and Dole
Green	Harry	Durnford	Amesbury
Green	Henry		
Guyatt	Dennis	Shrewton	Branch and Dole
Guyatt	George	Maddington	Branch and Dole
Gwyer	Charles	Downton	Downton
Harnett	Sidney	Whiteparish	Frustfield
Hatch	Abner	Nomansland	Downton
Hayes	John	Amesbury	Amesbury
Heathcote	William Arthur	Rollestone	Elstub & Everley
Henbest	Ann	Bramshaw	Cawden &
Hicks	John	Woodford	Cadworth Underditch
Hobbs	James	Winterslow	Alderbury
Hobbs	Thomas	Winterslow	Alderbury
Holly	Edward	Fugglestone St. Peter	Branch and Dole
Hooper	Joseph	East Grimstead	Alderbury
Horne	James	Allington	Amesbury
Hutchins	John, Jnr.	Burcombe	Cadon & Cadworth
Keevil	John	Compton Chamberlayne	Damerham South
Kellow	Charles	Durrington	Amesbury
Kent	Thomas	West Harnham	Cawden &

©Wiltshire OPC Project/2019/Maureen Withey

			Cadworth
King	George	Landford	Frustfield
			Cawden &
King	William	Bramshaw	Cadworth
Kirby	Francis	Woodford	Underditch
Lodge	William	Wilton (Without the Borough)	Branch and Dole
9	Stophon Josiah	West Harnham	Cawden &
Maton	Stephen Josiah		Cadworth
May	John	Durrington	Amesbury
McIntosh	Donald	Milford	Underditch
Miles	James	Standerwick	Downton
Mills	Edmund Francis	Orcheston St. Mary	Branch and Dole
Morton	William	Earldoms	Frustfield
Mussell	David	West Grimstead	Alderbury
Naish	John	Old Sarum	Underditch
Newham	James	Nunton & Bodenham	Downton
Newton	William	Britford	Cawden &
			Cadworth
Nightingale	Richard	Plaitford	Alderbury
Noble	James	Landford	Frustfield
Noble	William	Plaitford	Alderbury
Noyce	Samuel	Downton	Downton
Packer	Job	Laverstock	Alderbury
Page	Charles Bowle	Earldoms	Frustfield
Painter	James	Groveley Woods	Branch and Dole
	Charles		
Parham	Blandford	Berwick St. James	Branch and Dole
Parker	John	Stratford Sub Castle	Underditch
Parrett	Samuel	Broad Chalke	Chalke
Parrett	Thomas	Stratford Tony	Cawden &
Fallell			Cadworth
Parsons	Emanuel	Pitton and Farley	Alderbury
Parsons	John	Downton	Downton
Parsons	Joseph Goddard	Shrewton	Branch and Dole
Parsons	Stephen	Alderbury	Alderbury
Parsons	Walter Uriah	Boscombe	Amesbury
Percy	Thomas	West Dean	Alderbury
Philpot	Alfred	Allington	Amesbury
Pinckney	Erylsman	Berwick St. James	Branch and Dole
•	Charles		
Pocock	Edwin	Old Sarum	Underditch
Pollard	Henry Paul	Alderbury	Alderbury
Rawlence	James	Wilton (without the borough)	Branch and Dole
Read	David	West Grimstead	Alderbury
Read	Thomas	Clarendon Park	Alderbury
Read	William	Fugglestone St. Peter	Branch and Dole
Reed	Josiah	Nunton & Bodenham	Downton
Ridley	John	South Damerham	Damerham South
Robbins	John, Snr	Bulford	Amesbury
Robbins	John, Jnr.	Bulford	Amesbury
Rose	George	Newton Tony	Amesbury
Ruddle	Thomas Skeate	Whitsbury	Cawden &
	laasah	-	Cadworth
Scammell	Joseph	Wishford	Branch and Dole

©Wiltshire OPC Project/2019/Maureen Withey

Shergold	Joseph, Snr.	Groveley Woods	Branch and Dole
Silwood	George	Cholderton	Amesbury
Smith	Herbert	Baverstock	Cawden &
		Baverslock	Cadworth
Smith	Thomas	Orcheston St. Mary	Branch and Dole
Stone	Thomas	Bowerchalke	Chalke
Street	William	Langley Wood	Downton
Sutton	George	Idmiston	Alderbury
Sutton	John	Winterbourne Gunner	Alderbury
Swayne	Henry James	Bishopstone	Downton
Swayne	John	Steeple Langford	Branch and Dole
Targett	William	Compton Chamberlayne	Damerham South
Taunton	Jonathan Robert	Standerwick	Downton
Taunton	William	Downton	Downton
Taylor	James	Whiteparish	Frustfield
Terrill	William Feltham	Coombe Bissett	Cawden &
Terrin			Cadworth
Warnsborough	Howard	Maddington	Branch and Dole
Waters	Edward	Stratford Sub Castle	Underditch
Waters	George	South Damerham	Damerham South
Waters	George	Toyd Farm with Allenford	Damerham South
Waters	Thomas	Whitsbury	Cawden &
waters			Cadworth
Waters	William	Boscombe	Amesbury
White	Henry	Winterbourne Earls	Alderbury
Wills	William	Netherhampton	Cawden &
61114			Cadworth
Woodcock	John	Netherhampton	Cawden &
			Cadworth
Young	Walter	Bishopstone	Downton

The overseers from Winterbourne Stoke in the Branch and Dole Hundred, and from Wilsford and Lake in the Underditch Hundred, neglected to appear. At the same time constables for the above-mentioned parishes were appointed for the ensuing year.

Salisbury and Winchester Journal, 4 April 1868